Phnom Penh Tower Charity Fun Run

To give back to the local community people in Cambodia, the management of Phnom Penh Tower (PPT) makes a decision to organize a Charity Fun Run to raise fund for the Child Helpline Cambodia (CHC). 180 runners registered to run the 26 flights of stairs at PPT to raise fund for the good cause that CHC is doing for children and young people in Cambodia.

 

On 29th January 2012, about 160 people ran up 26 flights of stairs inside Hyundai Amco’s Phnom Penh Tower, and raised $10,739.35 for Child Helpline Cambodia. CHC is Cambodia’s first and only toll-free counseling service (1280) helping at risk children and youths. The Charity Fun Run, was the first such event to be held in the new Phnom Penh Tower, raised at $3,000 from corporate sponsors and $7,739.35 from individual fun runners.

 

The Charity Fun Run event kicked off at 4:00pm. Runners were divided into 36 groups with a group of 5 runners. The fastest male runner is Mr. Richard Sirrs with a time of 4 minutes and 22 seconds. The fastest female runner is Ms. Teresa Kochel with a time of 5 minutes and 59 seconds. It took just over 40 minutes for all the runners to start and the run was completed by 5:10 pm.

 

When asked what she thought about the run Teresa Kochel said “I was shocked and satisfied that I could do the 26 flights of stairs run within 5 minutes and 59 seconds. This is my first time and I ever did a vertical run before. I usually run 25 kilometers a week with my kids in the stroller and I also raise weight at the gym. I think the event was very well organized with lots of fun and very safe to do. I would like Phnom Penh Tower to organize this event again in 2013.” Teresa had a final special message “everyone in Cambodia is that MAKE A DIFFERENCE ONE PERSON AT A TIME”.

 

Richard Sirrs-Fastest Vertical Runner

Richard Sirrs has something to comment about the Charity Fun Run. “Well, I trained myself before the run. Training consisted of two disciplines, running and stepping. I live in a house which has a balcony and on the balcony there is a bench, about 2 stairs high. I used this bench to ‘step’, I completed 400 steps on each leg, 3-4 times a week. I’d have much preferred to train in a skyscraper on real steps but due to security considerations. It’s difficult to get access to the buildings. I ran approximately 4-5 times a week around Phnom Penh city. I ran at 10:00 in the evening as its cooler and there is less traffic! Each run was approximately 3 miles, with the first 2 miles at slow pace and finished the final mile at ‘race pace’. I also cycled for approximately 30 minutes 4 times a week. I sprinted at top speed for 10-15 seconds had 1 minute recovery and sprinted again. I included the cycling because I thought it was a good way to give my legs a sprint work out.”

 

He added that “I’d completed a 62 floor stair run in Bangkok the week before, in 8 minutes 30 seconds, so I was expecting to complete the Phnom Penh tower in about half that time. I was very surprised when I was named as the fastest runner. There were lots of very fit looking guys there on the day (in particular a couple of Cambodian athletes) and therefore I didn’t expect to win! It was a great event, such great fun and all the competitors did so well. The event was expertly organized and as far as I am concerned everything ran very smoothly. All the competitors were so positive and upbeat, especially the guys from ANZ bank. Also, the marshals did a great job. Chip timing could be something to look at for next year. I would be disappointed if the event didn’t take place, I think it’s a great way to raise money for a very worthwhile cause and for purely selfish reasons, I want to come back to Phnom Penh and defend my title!”

 

Richard finally added “Firstly, I’d like to say well done to all the competitors. I know myself that nothing hurts as much as the lung burn you get when racing up stairs! There are Tower runs in most major cities in the world and I think it’s great that Phnom Penh has now joined these cities as a Tower Running city. I hope there are many more events like this in the future as I think they can play a part in Phnom Penh’s development into a modern, world city.”

 

Alex Hales-Event Organizer

Last, but not least, the most money raiser was Mr. Alex Hales. He individually raised up to USD702.50. “I planned the Phnom Penh Tower charity fun run with two things in mind. Firstly to raise awareness of CHC 1280 toll free number and secondly to help raise money to support the organization. I am so thrilled the event has been such a great success, having so many people take part, doing something new and exciting like the vertical challenge. The spirit of giving has shown itself here today and with the money we have raised together I know we will help someone who needs it more. I want to say thanks to all those who took part and I hope we can arrange to do this again next year.”

 

On behalf of Child Helpline Cambodia, Phnom Penh Tower and all the at-risk children and youths in our communities, we would like to thanks all the companies who sponsored the cause and helped make this event possible. Hyundai Amco, Chevron, Air France, Coca Cola, Diversity Capital Holdings, Cellier D’asie, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, CTN, Phnom Penh Beer, CBRE Co Ltd, MPA International Ltd, PCS and Mega.

 

Finally we would like to thank all who supported the event and made it the great success on the day. As a special thanks to each and every runner, Phnom Penh Tower and Child Helpline Cambodia present to you the special commemorative photos taken by professional photographers Ruby Wright and Vinh Dao during the event.

Leave a comment